© Alex Grecian

  • Amazon - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

Reviews

 
 
 
 

The Yard Reviews

“If Charles Dickens isn’t somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is.”

May 25th, 2012

"Alex Grecian’s exuberantly grisly serial killer tale set in 1889 London picks up where the Ripper left off."

June 23rd, 2012

USA TODAY Hot Summer Read!​

One of this seasons hottest new titles

2012

"Grecian’s debut is the promising start of a new series and should be one of the most acclaimed and popular mysteries of the year."

May 29th, 2012

The Black Country Reviews

[Grecian] presents with fine precision the gray and gritty atmosphere of late-Victorian England.

May 1st, 2013

The novel’s varied relationships balance pathos with humor and point up lessons on human responsibility—on what we owe to those with whom we’re connected.

 April 8th, 2013

“Devilishly dark…It isn’t often that a mystery-thriller enthralls so completely…Whether you read the tale in the dark night of winter or the haze of a summer sun, be prepared for the chill. The days are dark in Black Country.”

July 18th, 2013

“The gentlemanly, no-nonsense banter of the detectives in the face of evil is one of the prime pleasures of this riveting Victorian procedural.”

July 25th, 2013

“Grecian creates an eerie atmosphere from start to finish, and without giving anything away, the killer here is creepy and unexpected."

May 24th, 2013

The Devil's Workshop Reviews

"A historical thriller that moves quickly and surely, bringing Jack the Ripper back from the realm of nightmare to the streets of London."

April 3rd, 2014

"Grecian has a remarkable way of pulling the reader in and down, into the swirling dark...We do not merely read Grecian’s books; we participate in them."

May 12th, 2014

"Grecian delivers a realistic and frightening look at violence during Victorian England in “The Devil’s Workshop.”

May 24th, 2014

"Once again, Alex Grecian turns loose his formidable powers of description to bring Victorian London to eerie, bustling life. From the prologue that takes place in the underworld beneath the city streets, to the prison break, to the adrenaline-pumping chase scenes, I could see it all before me, and I have to admit that the hair was standing on the back of my neck over and over again. "

May 20th, 2014

The Harvest Man Reviews

"The action is fast-paced and gripping; a real page-turner. The author provides an absorbing blend of 19th-century history and mystery. Grecian certainly knows London, its many streets and buildings, and as a result adds realism to the story. I found the story entertaining and a must-read for mystery aficionados."

May 2015

"Readers will be scared and thrilled..."

May 27th, 2015

"...a suspense-filled, atmospheric historical thriller taking the reader back to 1890 London. I truly felt like I was there during that time."

May 18th, 2015

"The exploits of Scotland Yard’s murder Squad have become a highlight in the annual reading calendar."

June 19th, 2015

 

Lost and Gone Forever Reviews

“…completely engrossing… fans of the series will bask in the Victorian atmosphere.”

2016

“Jack the Ripper meets his psychopathic equal in this macabre tale of late Victorian England… in this fifth installment about the hunt for England's most famous serial killer… you're in for quite a ride.”

2016

"Time and time again, Alex Grecian proves himself to be a master of the thriller."

May 17th, 2016

"I found the entire story to be gripping from start to finish...Each character’s story or the parts they play are fascinating and whole; they could each have a stand-alone novel."

March 15th, 2016

"The series is fascinating from the viewpoint of historical detail and the development of modern police procedure, and the books have interesting plots and fast pacing. "

May 19th, 2016

 

The Saint of Wolves and Butchers Reviews

"“With his artistry of painting a sense of place and time, Grecian delivers a compelling, twisty story driven by fascinating characters. The Saint of Wolves and Butchers makes breathless, gripping, up-all-night reading.”

2017

“A breathtaking thriller with plenty of action and some very clever twists . . . the grimly satisfying conclusion makes it worth it for both characters and readers. Fans of David Baldacci and John Grisham will enjoy the unpredictability and unrelenting suspense.”

2017

“The Saints of Wolves and Butchers has it all—a vicious old Nazi hiding out in rural America; a tracker hard on his trail; and a State Trooper and single mom with a lot to lose, willing to put it all on the line. Add a hot-engine plot, dialogue that would make Elmore Leonard smile, and some Fast and Furious action and you have the perfect storm of a story: a can’t-put-it-down-until-I find-out-what-happens-next thriller.”

2017

“With Alex Grecian, you’re in the hands of a professional. Deft prose, a steady drip of suspense, a blood-soaked secret from another time: The Saint of Wolves and Butchers has what you want in a Grecian thriller. My prescription? Purchase and consume immediately."

2017

 
 

Seven Sons Reviews

"Grecian imaginatively imparts a contemporary sensibility to the legendary tale, and illustrator Rossmo's tone is decidedly different from the whimsy of picture-book versions."

2006

PROOF Reviews

"deliver(s) sharp, funny dialogue, rounded characters and engagingly styled art. ...it's still the comic I save for last."

December 30th, 2009

 

Fractured Fables Reviews

"Alexander Grecian and Christian Ward’s team-up on “The Real Princess,” a take on “The Princess and the Pea” that mixes classic storytelling, sharp humor, and beautifully ethereal artwork."

2010

 

Dia De Los Muertos Reviews

"My favorite in the collection is writer Alex Grecian and Rossmo’s “Return of the Dead .” It’s just amazing what Grecian can do without any dialogue whatsoever."

May 24th, 2013

 
 

Bad Karma Reviews

"Beyond the artwork and the comic panels, the short stories also shine in this first volume and experiment with seamlessly combining prose with concepts and plots structured in comics to create a richer reading experience."

May 28th, 2015

Rasputin Reviews

" Grecian’s narration reads like poetry, and Rossmo carries the narrative with ease from past to present while Plascencia’s colors guide us through the biting cold and brooding darkness."

October 29th, 2014

"...this has been a great comic month-in-and-out. It has created a great spin on a character that continues to fascinate to this day. I loved reading these issues each month and cannot wait to delve back in once it’s out in trade. It’s been an adventure I’m glad I’ve been a part of."

November 8th, 2015